NEET Eligibility Criteria – Qualification, Age limit & Marks


NEET Eligibility Criteria  is prescribed by the National Testing Agency (NTA). The students are suggested to read carefully the eligibility criteria before filling the application form. NEET (National Eligibility cum Entrance Test) is a national level entrance examination for MBBS & BDS aspirants. This examination is conducted for providing admissions in various government & private colleges of the country. Candidates check here to get complete details about NEET  Eligibility.

NEET Eligibility Criteria
Age Criteria
  • The maximum age limit is 25 years as on December 31, of the year of admission for candidates belonging to general category.
  • The minimum age limit is 17 years as on December 31, of the year of admission or students belonging to all the categories.
  • The maximum age limit is 30 years as on December 31, of the year of admission for candidates belonging to reserved category.
Aggregate Marks For General Category – 50% (Physically Handicapped, PH – 45%) and for OBC/SC/ST – 45% (PH – 40%) Note: The marks scored for Math would not be taken into consideration in this exam
Number of Subjects There will be a total of 3 subjects with Physics, Chemistry, Biology.
Number of attempts There is no such attempt limit in NEET , only age limitation is applicable.
Year of Passing
  • Candidates who are appearing for their board exams in the year 2020 – Eligible
  • Candidates who have appeared for Class 12 exam in 2019 and appearing for an improvement exam in 2020 – Eligible
  • Students who have appeared for the Class 12 exam in 2018 and have taken an improvement exam in 2019, can mention the year of the exam with a better score.


NEET Eligibility Criteria for State Quota

Candidates should note that around 85% of MBBS/BDS seats will be reserved for NEET states quota counselling. The rest 15% seats will be allotted at the central level for All India Counselling. Hence, candidates have to fulfil the below-mentioned criteria:

  • Applicants should be a resident of the respective state.
  • Applicants should have proper proof of their residency.
  • Applicants should have completed (or pursuing) their schooling (Class 12th) from the respective state.

Eligibility for All India Quota in NEET

  • Applicants have to be a citizen of India.
  • The age of the candidate should be at least 18 years.
  • The upper age limit for candidates of general category will be 25 years, and for SC/ST candidates there is a relaxation of 5 years.
  • For applicants hailing from Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, and Jammu & Kashmir, would be only eligible for admission to the Armed Forces Medical College (AFMC), Pune.

NEET Eligibility criteria - 2
NEET Eligibility criteria - 3


NEET Qualifications and Qualifying Examination Codes

Qualifying Examination Codes Qualifications
Code 1 Students who will be appearing in Class 12 Board Examinations or whose result is awaited are eligible to appear for NEET . In case a candidate is unable to pass the qualifying examination with the required marks, then they will not be eligible for admissions.
Code 2 The Senior Secondary Education or the Indian School Certificate examination after 12 years’ study, where the last two years of such study consist of Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology or Mathematics or any other elective subject with core-level English.
Code 3 The Intermediate/Pre-degree Examination in science as offered by an Indian University/Board or other recognized examining body with Physics, Chemistry, Biology /Bio-technology and also English as compulsory subjects.
Code 4 The Pre-professional/Pre-medical examination with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Bio-technology & English after passing either the Higher Secondary Examination or the Pre-University or an equivalent examination. It includes all the practice tests in these subjects and English has been made a compulsory subject.
Code 5 The first year of the three years’ degree course from a recognized University with Physics, Chemistry and Biology/ Bio-technology including practical tests and core-level English.
Code 6 Candidate should have passed B.Sc. from an Indian University with not less than two of the subjects among Physics, Chemistry, Biology (Botany & Zoology)/Bio-technology.Apart from this, it is necessary that the candidate should have cleared the earlier qualifying examination with Physics, Chemistry, Biology, and English.
Code 7 Apart from the above-mentioned examinations, any exam which is found to be equivalent to the intermediate science examination of an Indian University/Board with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology and English as compulsory subjects will be considered. It also consists of practical tests in each subject.


Frequently Asked Questions on NEET Eligibility Criteria 

Q: What is the academic requirement for candidates belonging to the unreserved category?

A: 12th Qualifying Exam or equivalent, with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Bio-Technology and English as the subjects, with 50% marks.

Q: What is the upper age limit for NEET?

A: There is no upper age limit for NEET Exam. You can write the exam at any age. (after 17 years of age)

Q: How many times can I sit for NEET?

A: Previously, a candidate could attempt NEET only 3 times. However, there is no cap on the number of attempts.

Q: What should my minimum age be to be eligible for NEET?

A: The minimum age limit for NEET stands at 17.

Q: What are the minimum marks required to be eligible for NEET?

A: To be eligible for NEET, you should have passed in all subjects and your marks in 12th class qualifying exam (PCB) needs to be:

Category Minimum Marks
General 50%
EWS 50%
General (Physically Handicapped) 45%
OBC/SC/ST (Physically Handicapped) 40%

Q: Am I eligible for NEET if I am 26 years old and from the unreserved category?

A: Yes. There is no upper age limit.

Q: Who is eligible to apply for the 15% All India Quota?

A: The residential criteria for AIQ is:

Indian Nationals    ELIGIBLE
Non-Resident Indians (NRIs)
Overseas Citizens of India (OCIs)
Persons of Indian Origin (PIOs)
Foreign Nationals

Q: If I opt for Oriya as my mode of language, will I be eligible for AIQ?

A: Yes. You will be eligible for all quotas irrespective of your chosen language medium.

Q: If I have already appeared thrice in NEET, will I be allowed to sit for NEET 2021?

A: Yes. From NEET 2019 onwards, the cap on the number of attempts for NEET has been removed.

Q: Can I be admitted to any MBBS or BDS seat without appearing for NEET exam?

A: The admission to all MBBS and BDS seats will be done through NEET. However, AIIMS and JIPMER follow their separate entrance exams.

Q: Can I get admission in AIIMS through NEET?

A: Yes, From 2020 onwards, Admissions to Colleges in AIIMS and JIPMER would also happen based on your NEET Score.

Q: I have successfully cleared my class 12th exam, but instead of Biology, I have studied Biotechnology. Will I be eligible for NEET?

A: Yes.

Q: I have cleared my class 12th exam, but had neither Biology nor Biotechnology in my curriculum. What is my eligibility for NEET?

A: It is necessary to have studied either Biology or Biotechnology. You are, therefore, ineligible for the exam.

Q: I took a gap year after my class 12th examinations. Will I be eligible for NEET?

A: Yes, provided you meet all the other criteria.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here